Just A City Girl, Living In A Lonely World.

So it’s been three months since I moved to Peace River and coming from the mean streets of Ottawa, it certainly has been an adjustment. I’ve decided to take a moment on this day, the three month anniversary since my arrival, to write a blog about the various adventures I’ve had since entering the professional world of radio. I have kept in contact with a few of my friends from back home but not many seem interested in how I’m doing out here, maybe they means they never really were my friends. So, let’s start with the company I keep.
Mitchell the all mighty man in my life. No, we’re not dating. He’s my roommate. He’s built my bed, installed shelves in my room and all in all, is the best roommate I could ask for. He’s a very calm, passive personality. We haven’t fought or had any roomie drama. Our schedules don’t clash at work so we have worked out a lovely system at home. He comes from a good family with morals and all that good stuff and over the summer he struck up a short lived love affair with one of my besties, which brings us to Nicole.
Nicole the ginger. There were times when I felt like Nicole and I were cut from the same cloth. We have the same opinions and taste about most things and could make each other laugh with the simplest of things. Her limbs are longer than her attention span. Nicole worried me at times, she exercised for about 95% of the day (exaggeration of course) ate very little and I often saw her cry. But she was my first real friend here and since her return to Calgary to continue school, I miss her more than I miss many of my friends back in Ottawa. Nicole is a great girl, and she’s going to go far.
That brings me to the third leg of our tripod.

Emily she’s the cupcake of the crew. When you first meet Emily you may believe her to be a ditzy cupcake dweller. I’ll use cupcake a lot in describing Emily because frankly it’s the only way I know how to describe her. She’s pink and sparkly and covered in girliness, but she’s a sweet heart like no other and we have so much fun. I feel comfortable with Emily and I’m glad that she and I can share the things that we have in the short time that we’ve known each other. Along with Emily comes…

Curtis old balls. Curtis and I haven’t always seen eye to eye during the rocky start to his relationship with Emily but they’re a packaged deal now and as long as he keeps her happy, I’m okay with him joining us at the bar.

So that’s it, those are the people I spend my time with. Yes, it’s sad and sometimes I get lonely but this is only the beginning.

My love life has always been a circus but since moving to Peace River, I haven’t really met any keepers. Although all these cowboys seem to have secret fetishes for suicide girls. So here are the main guys I’ve experienced amongst the random creeps who I’ve caught starring.

Andrew he originally came into the picture because he was into Emily but when she ditched him at the bar one night, I went back so he wouldn’t cry about it. Because of him, I soon spiraled downward because of his constant blows to my self esteem. You’re fat, you’re ugly, you’re disgusting. Oh, I’m sorry I don’t want to put your cock in my mouth after 1 night. You’re not Emily’s type, you’re not my type, get over it buddy!

Tanner on a scale of 1-10, I’d say he was a 5. So no, he wasn’t fantastic, he was a little over weight and was a horrid speller but he was funny and had nice teeth. Turns out he was just a tool who dissed everything I like including Lord of The Rings and 80s movies. Also, he called Emily a cunt so there’s no room for him in the crew.

Colin was a very handsome older gentlemen who tried to come home with me one night but I was twat blocked by a drunk 18 year old who seemed to think I couldn’t make my own decisions. Colin, if you’re reading this… you have my number.

Julian he was magical. Tall, broad, blonde, beautiful eyes and perfect teeth. I was totally wrapped up in Julian. I thought guys like him were myths, the type who came from a nice family, read books and wasn’t afraid to look like a doofus. If he didn’t live two hours away we could have had a real chance I guess, but that ended up  being a problem.

Then there was an ugly friend I flirted with so my friend could hook up but this is the only information you get about him.

Then there’s my job. Everyone I work with are great. I couldn’t ask for a better boss for my first real job. Kent sometimes I think it’s unnatural how much energy has but he’s a nice guy who is easy to work for. Don’t get me wrong, when I fucked up he let me know. Chris is our GM and although I haven’t had as many encounters with him, he’s a friendly guy who seems to come from a background with a punk edge much like myself. Terry is the owner of the station and he is probably one of the nicest guys I’ve ever met. They run a great station here and I’m quite proud to be part of the Peace River Broadcasting Family. The only thing about my work place is the dress code. I feel like I’m back in high school again and my closet is less than innocent. I’m lacking in turtle necks and floor length skirts and I’m sorry but I have large breasts and they’re hard to cover. I’m definitely a rock chick with a rock closet. I understand the desire to look professional, but oh boy…is it tough and I’ve been spoken to more than once. Hopefully I’m getting better.

All in all, the town of Peace River is beautiful and I’ve really been enjoying my time here. Hopefully it doesn’t end any time soon.

This entry was posted in Journal, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

