Keeping Up With Kelsey

So it’s been just over 6 months since I made my journey out to Peace River and things are going pretty well. I mean, Peace River still isn’t my forever, it’s just a stop, but it’s feeling less and less like a chore to stop myself from running home. If you’ve been following my blog you know that I’ve been out with a few different guys since coming here. Well I got smacked in the face by commitment and was convinced to become a “girlfriend”. Kyle and I have been seeing each other for a little over a month, and officially a couple since November 30. My mom can’t help but make jokes about my serious commitment issues but I think she’s impressed that I’ve stuck around as long as I have. Frankly, I’m a little impressed myself. I can’t really explain what make me decide to take the leap with Kyle but I guess that at some point I stopped being okay with how much it hurt him for me to be dating other people. I don’t think I’m ever going to fully trust another person or be 100% sure that I’m not going to try to run away but I’m trying so hard to not do that without a good, solid reason.

I still worry a lot about my family. How my mom is doing, if my dad’s still doing okay with his sobriety… and with Christmas coming up, it just makes me worry more. It’s hard not being able to be home for Christmas. I miss the traditions, hot chocolate and caramel Bailey’s at the Christmas parade with Anna, her trying to force me to wear a Santa hat, Boxing Day shopping in Downtown Ottawa, wrapping gifts for my step-dad…

All in all, things in Peace River are good but all I can think about is 6 more months until I can see my family again.

This entry was posted in Journal, Life, Love, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

