REVIEW: KAT VON D SHADE + LIGHT CONTOUR

Anyone who follows me on social media knows how much I absolutely love Kat Von D Beauty products. Recently I purchased the Kat Von D Beauty  Shade + Light Contour Palette and Shade + Light Contour Brush from Sephora. The palette includes 3 matte highlighting shades and 3 matte contouring shades for cool, neutral and warm complexions. The palette also comes with illustrations done by Kat to demonstrate where you should apply each shade. The brush is a dual ended brush with one end for contouring and one end for highlighting, it also comes in a coffin shaped case. The palette retails for $55 Canadian at Sephora and the brush retails for $43 Canadian at Sephora. Here are my thoughts:

First Impression

I was pretty please upon opening the palette as the colours were very nice and it was visually obvious how pigmented they were. The true matte finish was also so gorgeous and the packaging itself was beautiful. The brush came in a coffin case that is obviously very cheaply made and was basically child proof. I had such a hard time opening it I didn’t even want to close it tightly again. The brush itself was very nice with soft bristles and it was clearly marked which end of the brush was for contour and which was for highlight.

12422326_10154137729838128_619644776_o

Application

Day 1: I started off using the lightest colours in the palette as I have very fair skin. These are the cool toned shades, the contour shade is Sombre (true taupe) and the highlight shade is Lucid (Pinkish Nude). The powder was very silky and soft so you want to sweep your brush across it lightly or you’ll end up with powder all over your palette. It was very pigmented so it didn’t take much to get great colour and it didn’t add a powdery finish or any heaviness to my face, it actually left my complexion looking very smooth. It was also amazingly easy and smooth to blend. I applied contour to my cheek bones, around my hair line on my forehead, temples and jaw line and then a little along the sides of my nose although I haven’t really mastered the nose contouring yet. I also dusted a little just under my bottom lip to create the illusion of a fuller lip by adding a shadow. Then I applied highlighter below my cheek contour, under my eyes, down the center of my nose, up between my eyebrows and the middle of my forehead and a light dusting on my chin. I’ve kept it pretty subtle as I get to know the colours in the palette.

 

Day 2: I decided to try using the darker shades because the colours blend so incredibly well that I felt like I could make it work. So I worked with the neutral toned shades in the middle of the palette, Shadowplay (soft brown) for the contour and Lyric(yellow beige) for the highlight. I found that Lyric was really brightening, especially around my eye area, and Shadowplay was great for around my hair line which helps my forehead appear smaller. I finished off the look with adding a little pink to my cheek bones with TooFaced Sweethearts Perfect Flush Blush in Something About Berry and then I dusted a shimmering highlighter on my cheek bones, forehead and down my nose. For the shimmering highlight I used MAC Mineralized Skinfinish in Soft & Gentle, which is a gorgeous soft peach. Then I used MAC lipstick in True Loves Kiss from their Maleficent line, which is no longer available. For my photos I have just my foundation, then the contoured look and the finished look.

DAY 2 FINISHED

Day 3: For Day 3 I got ballsy and decided to incorporate the darkest contour shade, Subconscious, into my look. It’s a very deep brown so I only used it to create a shadow long my jaw line and I blended like crazy but it did eventually end up looking pretty good. I used Sombre down the sides of my nose. Other than that I did the same thing as I did yesterday with Shadowplay and then used both Lucid + Lyric to highlight, then I added a little MAC Mineralized Skinfinish in Soft & Gentle for a soft glow. For this look I am also wearing Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper, Kat Von D Lock It Tattoo Foundation in Light 44, Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Noble, Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow in Danzig, Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara and Marc Jacob Highliner Gel Eye Crayon Eyeliner in Black.

 

Over all I think this palette was a really great investment. The colours are so incredibly pigmented, but also so blendable and silky that you can incorporate each colour in one way or another. The brush is also a must have, the bristols are so soft and it makes application and blending just amazingly easy. I will definitely be buying this palette again!

This entry was posted in Beauty, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

