REVIEW: TARTE RAINFOREST OF THE SEA

I cashed in 500 of my Sephora Beauty Insider points on the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Discovery Set and I wanted to share my thoughts! The set also included a travel size of the Lights, Camera Lashes 4 in 1 mascara which is not a part of the Rainforest of the Sea collection. I’ve actually never tried Tarte products before so this was a really exciting package for me to get!

Note that Tarte Cosmetics are cruelty free.

Included

  • Lights, Camera Lashes Mascara
  • Drench Lip Splash Lipstick in Beach Bum
  • Deep Dive Cleansing Gel
  • Rainforest of the Sea Marine Boosting 4 in 1 Mist
  • Rainforest of the Sea Water Foundation samples in light neutral, light-medium honey, medium honey and tan sand.

Lights, Camera, Lashes 4 in 1 Mascara

This is the first product of the set that I tried and I was so incredibly impressed. The brush was wonderful and I got long lasting curl, length, volume and rich colour. It also conditions and is very easy to remove. I washed it off with a Wash Dolly, which is basically a knock off version of the Make Up Eraser. This particular formula isn’t waterproof and I didn’t put it to any sort of crying test or anything besides washing it off, it does come in a waterproof formula called Lights, Camera, Splashes. It comes in a super cute sort of snake patterned pouch design tube. This mascara sells for $25.00 CA at Sephora is a little cheaper than my usual mascara so I actually think I might make the switch! I’m awful at eye photos so you’re just going to have to take my word that this mascara is fantastic and definitely worth a try!

s862417-main-zoom

Drench Lip Splash Lipstick in Beach Bum

This is a “dark nude” as described on the Sephora website. The Discovery Set comes with a 0.035 oz sample. This lipstick actually broke the instant it touched my lips which meant application wasn’t easy because I didn’t have a brush I could use (haha). On my fair skin it looked like kind of a brownish peach, or brown/orange. Initially I wasn’t particularly fond the colour but I did like the overall feel of the formula; it was smooth, soft and felt super hydrating to my lips and the colour did grow on me as I finished getting ready. It kind of reminded me of Lolita by Kat Von D. This lipstick is vegan and comes in 12 shades ranging from nude to blackberry, including corals, pinks, reds and violets. I don’t think I would buy this lipstick as the formula rubbed off easily.

Rainforest of the Sea Water Foundation

This foundation is available in 12 shades. It is formulated without parabens or phthalates and it’s also gluten free which was something I wasn’t even aware was a thing when it comes to cosmetics. It’s said to be a lightweight but full coverage foundation with 12 hour wear. It sells for $47.00 CA at Sephora. When you buy the foundation it actually comes with a dropper applicator and they recommend that you apply the foundation right onto your brush or sponge before applying to your face. I really wish that I could share my thoughts on this foundation with you, however, I seem to have misplaced my samples.

Rainforest of the Sea Marine Boosting 4 in 1 Mist

Retailing at $30.00 Canadian at Sephora; this is a primer, hydrating mist, skin refresher and setting spray in one product. It’s packed with antioxidants and vegan and cruelty free. I absolutely loved the dewy glow this gave my skin, it also left my face looking so smooth and it smells amazing. I tried spraying it onto my beauty blender and I really liked that. This is definitely a product I intend on buying in the future.

Deep Dive Cleansing Gel

This gel cleanser is sold at Sephora for $30.00 CA.  It didn’t really have much of a gel consistency in my opnion, it was more of a liquid cleanser. It’s lavender oil infused, full of antioxidants and Vitamin C to brighten complexion, and removes excess oil while maintaining the skins natural moisture balance. I really loved the scent which I would assume is the lavender oil but to me it smelled more like eucalyptus. It washed my foundation off well but didn’t wash my eyebrow wax off at all. My complexion did look pretty fresh and brightened after a couple washes.  I would probably spend the money to try the cleanser again.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

