REVIEW: KAT VON D SHADE + LIGHT EYE CONTOUR QUAD – SMOKE

The Shade + Light Eye Contour Quads are the newest shadow palettes from Kat Von D Beauty and of course I was dying for them! My in-laws bought me “Smoke” for my birthday and I was so excited. I absolutely love the packaging, it’s in a matte black coffin case and has Kat’s usual Shade + Light illustration on the front. It comes with an insert with illustrations done by Kat to show you how to apply the colours. The colours are absolutely gorgeous and true matte. These quads are super reasonably priced at only $34 CA at Sephora. The palette is also available in Rust(matte brownish reds), Sage(matte greens and neutrals) and Plum (matte purples). Sage is the only vegan palette but all four are cruelty-free.

 For my first day of using this palette I used it with the Kat Von D Metal Crush eyeshadow in Static Age to add a little oomph. These shadows blended amazingly, the colours were soft but still pigmented. I did experience a little bit of fall out but I could have just put too much product on my brush and was a little sloppy with it. I was especially impressed with how rich the black was. The taupe colour on the far left is the base colour and I definitely shouldn’t have gone as high up with that colour as I did.

 The next day I decided to duplicate this look but use the Metal Crush eye shadow in Danzig instead and it was a great success! My face is like 90% Kat Von D for this day, the products I used are: Eye Contour Quad in Smoke, Metal Crush Eye Shadow in Danzig, Lock It Foundation in Light 44, Shade + Light Contour Palette, Tattoo Liner in Trooper, Benefit Brow Zing in Dark, MAC Prep + Prime Skin, TooFaced Shadow Insurance eye shadow primer, Marc Jacobs Highliner Gel Eye Pencil in Black and Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara. I really love the way the Metal Crush blends with the Eye Contour Palette. The colours are super rich and apply smoothly.

This palette is great because there is so much versatility to where you can apply each color. For this look I went mostly grey. I used the white colour, intended for highlighting, along my brows, the base colour, which is a taupe, along my crease. Then I applied the grey on my lid and the black along my outer corner, you can’t even really notice the black because I lined my upper lash line with Tattoo Liner in Trooper. I would consider this look the “in between” of this quads abilities, you could go way darker or do it a lot more neutral. My lip in this look is the Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Echo.

I tried applying the shadow with a wet brush after cleaning all my brushes and it gave it a clay like texture but it didn’t really affect the application or the product otherwise.

Overall I would say that spending $34 CA on this quad is definitely worth it.You can’t go wrong with a Kat Von D product, they really can’t be beat pigmentation wise. You get a product that you know is going to be long lasting and have great colour pay off; plus thirty four dollars really isn’t a lot for a really great eye shadow palette and this quad is a super versatile one with tons of look possibilities.

Swatches of the Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Quad in Plum

plum

This entry was posted in Beauty, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to REVIEW: KAT VON D SHADE + LIGHT EYE CONTOUR QUAD – SMOKE

  1. They look so pigmented! We’ll definitely have to try these quads.

    XX, Britta & Carli from http://twinspiration.co/

  2. Molly says:

    I’ve been looking into these because I love the color selections! Lovely post!

    http://www.molly-alamode.com

Leave a Reply

