REVIEW: KAT VON D METAL CRUSH EYESHADOW

Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow is a polished metallic finished eye shadow that comes in 11 bold shades. Each shadow is created using a tumbling technique that softens and smooths each particle for a powder that is creamy and highly pigmented. Each Metal Crush Eyeshadow is 0.10oz in size and sells for $25.00 CA at Sephora. Each shade sold separately. So far I have two shades to review.

DANZIG

Danzig is the first shade of this line that I bought. I chose this one because it’s a metallic violet purple and I really love the way that purple looks with blue eyes. Upon opening the package I thought it was absolutely gorgeous with a bit of a blue shimmer when it catches the light. I swept my finger across it and it was so soft, smooth and incredibly pigmented. Danzig is not one of the vegan shades available but all Kat Von D products are cruelty free.

This photo is just one finger swipe. 12894316_10154146349778128_1067670485_o

For my first application I decided to start super small for work. I work in a radio station so I usually do feel pretty comfortable experimenting with my makeup but I didn’t wanna go all out when I was just getting to know this shadow. I used it to line my bottom lash and I pulled it right up along the wing from the black liner on my upper lash. For my upper lash I used Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper. I also lined my bottom lash line in Marc Jacobs Highliner Gel Eye Crayon Eyeliner in Blacquer 42 – Black. This shadow was very pigmented, applied so smooth and had absolutely zero fall out so I felt confident going back in after I applied my foundation to sweep on some more colour.

day 1

For my second application I went all out with the purple. I used Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara.ย  So far I’ve kept it pretty tamed with the lips, using Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Noble for both looks. I would maybe wear it with a black lipstick for going out but not for a day to day look.

day 2 b

Next, I’ll do a smoky eye with just a touch of purple. After doing a smoky eye with the new Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Quad in Smoke and Static Age I decided to duplicate the look with Danzig and I love it! I will never get over how vibrant this purple is.

STATIC AGE

Static Age is the silver shade in the Metal Crush line. Static Age is another Metal Crush shade that is not vegan. I chose the silver because it’s a super versatile colour and I knew that it would look great with Danzig. Again, I was blown away by how pigmented it was, it was as though I had spray painted my finger with silver. So gorgeous and I couldn’t wait to use it.

STATIC AGE SWATCH

I really, really loved the first look I did with this eye shadow. I started by applying a little too much of the Static Age and ended up having to blend Thirteen from the Naked Smoky palette from my crease and up to my brow to tame the silver. It is just SO pigmented! I ended up looking like I was trying to do makeup for an alien costume, but blending it with Thirteen (which is a matte beige/white) really worked. I skipped my usual winged eye liner and opted for just mascara and then I line my bottom lash line with NYX Eye and Brow Pencil in Electric Blue. It took a few minutes to really love this look because I’m so used to having black eyeliner on my top lash line but this really widened my eyes, it’s definitely something I’ll do again! Please ignore how bad my lashes look in these pictures as I tried a new sample mascara and it was bad, I don’t even remember what it was. These three photos are just my natural lip colour.

Next Up! A Smoky eye with Static Age. For my smoky eye look using the Metal Crush shadow I decided to get two birds stoned at once and I paired it with the new Kat Von D Beauty Shade + Light Eye Contour Quad in Smoke, which I will be reviewing in a different post. I also used Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper along my top lash line but I didn’t do anything with my bottom lash line because to be honest I was running a little late and just sort of forgot. After using this silver for a smoky eye, I don’t know what I ever did before it. It is beautifully pigmented and vibrant, really adds extra oomph to a generic smoky eye. Blends amazingly with the other colours. It’s looks like this when I wish that I had the Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Bow N Arrow. I paired it with Lolita.

For this look, I put Static Age on the inner corner, Danzig in the middle and the black shade from the Smoke Eye Contour quad on the outer corner. The colours blended together effortlessly. These photos really don’t capture how cool this really looks!

Swatches of Paranoid (blue) and Thrasher(gold)

image.jpeg

Overall, I lav lav lav this eye shadow collection! Share your Metal Crush looks with me! You’ll find links to all my social media accounts at the bottom of this page.

Vegan Shades

Doce (Copper), Electric Warrior (citron green), Paranoid (cobalt blue), Thrasher (gold), Thunderstruck (pearl).

Other Uses
Thunderstruck makes a great highlight.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

