THE TREND: BLUE EYES

Something that has been popping up all over runways and magazines this season has been blue eye makeup. Chanel, Hugo Boss, Diane von Furstenberg; whether you choose to go full blown blue or dabble in something more subtle, blue is this spring’s “it” thing. And this look is easier than you think.

It’s a look that I’ve been playing with for a few months now, since the release of Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real mascara in Beyond Blue. If this is a look you think you might want to try, check out these products…

Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real Mascara in Beyond Blue
This mascara is the classic They’re Real formula in a fun and very vibrant royal blue shade. You get great length and great volume while adding a pop of colour to your look. This has been a really popular choice since it’s release as They’re Real is one of the best selling high end drug store mascaras. They also offer this shade of blue in the They’re Real liquid liner.

BEYOND BLUE

NYX Vivid Bright Liner in Vivid Sapphire
This is another great choice because it’s super versatile and can be used to create a load of different looks. New from NYX, the Vivid Bright liners are a liquid liner with a flimsy dip brush applicator. Although I much prefer a felt tip pen style of liquid liner for precision, this liner was pretty easy to use; smooth application and has a beautiful, vibrant and matte finish. Once dry, it almost has a “chalk pen” sort of matte look. It lasts all day without fading, flaking or cracking.


NYX Cosmetics Eyebrow/Eyeliner Pencil in Electric Blue
This is a liner I picked up after watching Hart of Dixie and falling in love with the way that Tansy lined her bottom lashes with a turquoise blue liner. It’s only $5 CA so it’s a great buy  for experimenting. It smudges a little so I wouldn’t recommend buying this liner for crisp black/brown lines but for the brighter colours, the smudging won’t ruin your look. I think that I would personally prefer a smooth gel pencil than normal eye liner pencil. This pencil is pretty bright but it doesn’t photograph well. I chose to first demonstrate it with a smoky lid but I do it with a more neutral lid a lot as well.

For my second look I opted to pair it with the Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow in Static Age which is a gorgeous metallic silver.  It was really hard to get used to this look because I skipped my usual winged black liner but overall I really liked it and thought it really opened my eyes and brightened my face. I really liked the blue liner with this shadow and it’s definitely something I’ll do again!  Ignore my eyelashes as I tried a new sample mascara and it was garbage.

Sephora Collection Colorful Eye Shadow in Sailor Kiss

This is the very first Sephora Collection I have ever bought and when I swatched it I literally say “Wow”. I wasn’t expecting such amazing pigment. It has a “luster matte” finish and I’m not really sure what that means but in the package it has a super subtle sort of micro glitter and on my finger it’s pretty flat. It’s very smooth and soft.

SAILOR KISS

I chose this shadow with the intention of doing a Marc Jacobs inspired sweep on the inner corner of my eye. This colour is obviously incredibly versatile and would even be great in a smoky eye. It has a very smooth texture, almost clay like on my finger. I started by using the highlight colour from the Kat Von D Eye Contour Quad in Smoke to go from my crease to my brow and then I blended the taupe base shade onto my lid, then I took Sailor Kiss and started in the inner corner working outward. A little of this shadow went a long way so I ended up blending it farther out than I had initially intended to so it’s kind of a reverse smoky eye. The colour was so perfect, it blended wonderfully, amazingly pigmented and vibrant. I skipped using liner and just used Benefit RollerLash Mascara. This shadow is not tested on animals. I’ll definitely be buying from this collection again.

Kat Von D Metal Crush Eye Shadow in Paranoid

This is a metallic cobalt blue, if you read my review of this line you know how much I love it! So smooth, amazing application, zero fall out and unbelievable pigment. You have complete control over where the colour applies. Nothing can even compare!

I decided to try the Marc Jacobs look again with this shadow since it didn’t go as planned with Sailor Kiss and I would say it was a success! Absolutely love this colour and I can’t wait to try other looks with it.

paranoid optimum

So those are the products that I love for this spring’s eye makeup trend. Don’t ever be afraid to experiment with your look! I would LOVE to see your favourite blue eyed looks and products. You can comment on this post or contact me on any of my social media platforms linked at the bottom of this page.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

