LIPSTICK SWATCHES: GO VIBRANT!

Lipstick is something that I’ve really gotten into the past few years. At first, I didn’t want to get too bold, I was a classic red lip type of girl. But then MAC released the Miley Cyrus Viva Glam, which was a hot pink. My sister in law got it for me for my birthday and I was absolutely obsessed! From there, I got more adventurous with my lipstick and my love grew. I highly recommend Kat Von D lipsticks for vibrant shades, she has a huge variety and they’re excellent quality. If you’re ever not sure about a colour, buy a cheap drug store version but the Kat Von D colours are definitely worth the investment. I am so obsessed with Kat Von D lipsticks that I’ve actually talked my mom into ordering some and now she loves them too. But MAC has a lot of really amazing vibrant colours as well. So with summer fast approaching, these are my top 10 (in no particular order) fun, funky, vibrant shades:

Nothing that I’ve done to these photos dramatically alters the colour of the lipstick. Each photo is taken in different lighting and locations.

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in A-Go-Go
This is a matte neon orange in the Studded Kiss Collection from Kat Von D. When I decided I wanted to try orange lipstick, I bought Countess first, which is an orange/red. It was definitely more on the orange side, and I really liked it! So I went ahead and bought A-Go-Go. I absolutely love this colour, I don’t find that it’s TOO bright. It’s very pigmented and long wearing. I have super fair skin, but I absolutely think this shade would work great on any skin tone! It spruces up every outfit and is still pretty while also being bold and fun. I love pairing it with cute patterned dresses. It’s also offered in the Everlasting Liquid Lipstick formula but I think that the liquid formula is an orange/red shade. $26.00 CA at Sephora. Kat Von D also offers a couple other orange shades, a lighter tangerine orange  with a gold glitter and a neon “clementine”, I don’t know how describe them but they are just different shades. PS. I will never again get a selfie as good as this one.

orange

MAC Lipstick in Tropic Tonic
This is another orange shade but this one has a slightly softer finish. It’s still very vibrant, and I don’t know how to describe it in any other way than a neon pastel. It absolutely makes your face glow, and is the perfect summer shade because it looks great for a day to day look while still adding pop to your face and it really brings out any sun glow you may have.  I love, love, love this colour but it’s not quite as transfer proof as some of the others. I would really like to one day compare this to the Halo and Solo orange shades from Kat Von D and see if they’re similar.

tropic tonic

 Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Backstage Bambi
This is a really cute, pretty, and fun neon pink with a matte finish. It’s more of a highlighter neon barbie pink as opposed to an 80s hot pink. I really love the way bright pink makes my eyes pop so this is one I wear pretty frequently. It’s also offered in the Everlasting Liquid Lipstick formula if you prefer liquid lipsticks. $26.00 Ca at Sephora.

backstagebambi

backstagebambi 2

Kat Von D Also offers a hot pink with an iridescent finish which is the
Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Sexer
It’s impossible to truly catch the iridescent finish in a photo but it’s basically Backstage Bambi with the rainbow finish of a bubble. It’s fun because it’s a super hot barbie pink that catches the light and turns purpley. I consider this a party pink for sure.

sexer

 MAC Lipstick in Flat Out Fabulous
This is a hot fuchsia pink that is part of the Retro Matte line at MAC. The fact that it’s “retro matte” speaks volumes to the type of colour it is. It’s a little darker than the Backstage Bambi but it’s still a very vibrant pink. I think this colour is a little more forgiving; some people think that bright lipsticks can only be pulled off at a certain age but I think this is a very appropriate for woman of all ages because it is slightly darker and not just a neon pink. It does look pretty bright on me because I have very fair skin. The particular lipstick is actually super long wear, I could eat and it wouldn’t come off. It’s probably the longest wearing MAC Lipstick that I’ve ever bought. It applies super smooth and is very pigmented.

flat out fabulous

flat out fabulous 2

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Beloved
This one is a little less bold than the others but it’s still a really fun, vibrant shade for summer. It’s a matte neon coral pink in the everlasting liquid formula. I’m pretty certain that this colour used to be called Jeffree and it was marketed as a hot pink but they renamed it Beloved and re-branded as a coral. Because I have a tube of both and they look the exact same. However, Jeffree is still available on the Kat Von D Beauty website.  It’s not offered in a Studded Kiss Lipstick but I want to say that the colour La Femme is pretty similar but a little more toned down if you prefer the Studded Kiss formula.

Jeffree

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in BauHau5
This shade is described online as a “matte deep raspberry” but it’s actually very bright. It’s a darker pink than the others on this list, and it’s not a hot pink. It looks red in the photo but that’s because it’s sort of a pink with red undertones as opposed to a red with fuchsia undertones. This one really is one of my absolute favourites. It is available in the Everlasting Liquid Lipstick formula as well. Great for summer weddings.

BUAHUA5

bauhau5

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in L.U.V
This lipstick is absolutely one of my favourites. It’s a matte violet purple. I never thought that I would love purple lipstick so much, but when I saw a photo of Kat wearing L.U.V and I was like, “that is a lipstick that I need to try!” Super pigmented colour and it’s very long wearing. You get a smooth application with great lip coverage, no patchiness. This colour is also offered in the Everlasting Liquid Lipstick formula. I love the way purple lips look with blue eyes.

LUV

Kat Von D also offers an iridescent purple in the studded kiss formula which is
Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Wonderchilde
This is another purple from Kat Von D but this shade has an iridescent finish, meaning it catches the light, sort of changes colours at different angles. The iridescent finish gives this purple more of a magenta colour. I can never get a photo to really capture the finish but you can see the colour different between this and LUV and how it catches the light, especially in the second photo here. The iridescent lipsticks aren’t quite as transfer proof as the matte finishes but they’re gorgeous and highly pigmented and they feel super light on the lips. This is a super cool lipstick and really stands out.

wonderchilde 2WONDERCHILDE

MAC Lipstick in Heroine
This is a purple shade from MAC. it’s pretty close to L.U.V but it has slightly more magenta undertones. It’s a really pretty purple, I think it’s super versatile cause it can be girly glam or edgy chic. I really love this colour but it’s not quite as long wear as the Kat Von D purples. MAC Lipsticks are a few dollars cheaper though so if you’re a lover of the MAC formula this is a great summer colour.

heroine

You can read all about my favourite purple lipsticks here

Be bold, Be brave! Share your vibrant lip looks with me on Twitter and Instagram.
Twitter: @KelseyProblemz
Instagram: @KelseyCarolSomerville

And just for shits, my favourite lipstick for a natural look is
Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Lovecraft
This is a “your lips but better shade”. It’s a soft mauve pink nude, very pretty and emphasizes your natural beauty while still adding soft colour. Here I paired it with the new Kat Von D Shade + Light eye contour quad in Plum which created a really pretty, soft, rosy look.

LOVECRAFT

This entry was posted in Beauty, Reviews, Swatches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

