REVIEW: MAC STUDIO FIX FLUID SPF15

Lately I’ve been mostly using Kat Von D Lock It foundation or Mac ProLongwear Nourishing Waterproof foundation. Both of these are amazing formulas, but I decided that for summer I should pick up something with an SPF! So I decided to pick up the
MAC Studio Fix Fluid SPF15.

I have pretty oily skin, so I usually stay away from foundation with SPF because it tends to make the foundation oilier. Terrible I know; SPF is so important. So I went cruising the MAC website for something that might be a good fit for me and decided to try this one.
According to the website, it’s an oil-controlling formula with a natural, matte finish and medium to full coverage. Plus SPF15. Sounded perfect! Downside, it says it has 8 hour wear which really doesn’t seem long enough.

The colour I always buy is NC15, fair with pink undertones, it works great for me. I really like the way this foundation blends, it’s a very smooth application. It has a pretty matte finish, but not as matte as Kat Von D Lock It Foundation. It does do a pretty good job of controlling oil. I pair it with the MAC Prep + Prime Skin primer which is my absolute favourite! It’s like silk on your skin, helps smooth out your foundation application and it also helps control oil. I would usually finish my look with MAC Prep + Prime Translucent Pressed Powder; I don’t have any right now, but the foundation still stands up pretty well without it and my powders (contour and blush) settle just fine with this foundation. No blotchiness. There’s no cakiness with this foundation even when I build a fuller coverage which is great, it feels super comfortable. I applied the foundation at 8am and around 5pm it was looking a little oily so I had to use some powder. Coverage was still pretty decent at the 5pm mark. I would say that the 8 hour wear statement is a relatively accurate average wear time. It was still looking alright after 5pm but the coverage definitely declined around 10 hours.

Honestly, I would say the only big downside to this foundation is the container. It doesn’t have a pump or anything, you just dump it out on your hand which is a little unsanitary. You don’t get always awesome control over how much product you dispense but luckily the foundation consistently is pretty thick so it comes out of the bottle slowly. I do wish it was a little longer wearing.

I would like to one day mix it with the Pro Longwear Waterproof formula and see how they work as a team

This is definitely a foundation I would purchase again. 4/5

MAC STUDIO

This entry was posted in Beauty, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

