BEAUTY HAUL: TARTE FRIENDS & FAMILY SALE

Tarte recently had their 30% off Friends and Family sale so I picked up a few items. I was expecting to pay duties but I didn’t which is great. It was shipped via the postal service, and was pretty quick getting to me. Will definitely order online from Tarte again! With each order you can earn Tarte Tokens, which can be redeemed for free products. Tarte products are great quality and cruelty free.
So if you think you might want to place an order, use my referral link!

tarte

The first product I’m going to review is the Amazonian Clay waterproof brow pencil. I picked this up in rich brown. Before I got this I had been using the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Definer, which I really like because it’s angled. Upon first impressions, I really liked that this Tarte brow pencil was so tiny because it will be great for precision and getting those little natural hair like strokes. It also has a spoolie on the end. This brow pencil is vegan friendly. This pencil gave me great colour and great precision but it’s so thin that it snapped on me twice the first time I used it, so I feel like it’s not going to last me long. The original price is $27 and I picked this up for $18.90. I think next time I’ll just pay the $30 for the ABH Brow Definer because I know it’s not going to snap on me.

Next up is the maracuja creaseless concealer. This is a waterproof, full coverage concealer. I have oily skin so I wasn’t sure how it would react to the maracuja, but I heard this concealer is great for covering dark circles.  I got it in the colour fair. It’s a vegan formula. I got great coverage and it did leave me a little shiny but not anything that couldn’t be fixed with some setting powder. A little of this went a long way which took a few days to get used to, I kept dispensing too much product. It didn’t give me as smooth and creaseless of a finish as I was expecting but it didn’t settle into fine lines too horribly. The colour is a perfect match for the foundation I picked up. It was super long wearing and only required minimal touch ups as my day ended. Overall I would say that this is a good concealer, for a pretty decent price compared to other high end concealers. This concealer is $31 regular, and I got it for $21.70.

I also picked up the Amazonian Clay 12-hour full coverage foundation in the colour fair beige, for fair skin with pink undertones. It’s an oil free foundation and it’s also vegan. I didn’t know what to expect from this since it’s a full coverage foundation but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it has a whipped, mousse like texture. It gave me great coverage and a matte finish without feeling heavy and it lasted all day. The colour was spot on. This foundation is $51 and I got it for $35.70. I would usually say that $51 is too expensive, but if the bottle lasts me a quite a while I will probably invest in this foundation in the future.

The last product I picked up with this order is the Bronze & Glow contour brush. It’s bristols are made of synthetic material so it’s vegan friendly. Super soft and fluffy. I planned on using this for contouring. It has a smaller side that will be perfect for contouring, and then a big fluffy end for buffing out harsh lines and contouring the forehead. I’ll continue using my Kat Von D Shade + Light contour brush for highlighting at this point. This brush did exactly what I wanted it to do and I loved the way it felt. Super happy with this brush, even if I had to pay full price for it I think it would be worth it. This brush is regular $41 and I got it for $28.70! Would definitely buy more Tarte brushes in the future.

TARTE2

About a week after I placed this order I also grabbed a few items from Sephora, and decided to pick up the Tarte Clean Slate poreless 12-hour perfecting primer. It’s a waterproof, mattifying base that minimizes the appearance of pores, fine lines and imperfections. It contains vitamins A, C and E for skin hydration. It’s also vegan friendly. The primer is supposed to ensure your makeup lasts 12 hours, but since I would be using it with a 12 hour foundation I didn’t really think it would affect the longevity. The primer has a gel formula, like the Smashbox Photo finish primer. I’ve heard that this type of primer is best for oily skin. This primer was kind of difficult to spread, it balled up quite a bit so I had to keep blending it to get a smooth finish. It did feel nice on the skin once it was spread but it also gave me a pretty slippy canvas. It did make my pores look a little smaller but I didn’t feel like it did anything crazy enough to get hyped up about. It gave me a matte finish to begin with which lasted the first couple hours of my day. It does make my skin pretty soft which is nice. This primer is $40 for a tube, it’s a good primer but I dunno if it’s really $40 good. I’m still pretty on the fence about this particular product.

All prices are in CAD.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BEAUTY HAUL: TARTE FRIENDS & FAMILY SALE

  1. bisousbella says:

    Nice picks! ~ Bella x

  2. i have the Amazonian Clay foundation, thats all i own by tarte but i love it! i want to try the maracuja creaseless concealer!
    check out my blog for more beauty and fashion related posts:
    http://www.sprinkleofsurprise.wordpress.com
    instagram: @sprinkleofsurprise

  3. The Sartorial Coquette says:

    i love tarte!! i hope the primer works out for you ❤
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

Leave a Reply

