As A Vegetarian| Why I Still Shop MAC

MAC Cosmetics is one of those grey area cosmetic companies that isn’t listed as cruelty free because they sell their products in China. In China, it is legally necessary for all cosmetics to be tested on animals before it can be sold. This testing is done by a third party within the Chinese government, not by MAC. And I believe that as of 2014, this law only pertains to cosmetics.

I could argue with you about all the medical discoveries that never would have been made if it weren’t for animal testing. I’m still against it. I could argue both sides, but I chose a vegetarian lifestyle.

Yeah, I’m a vegetarian, so I know people are like, “how can you wear cosmetics that have been tested on animals?”. I hate animal testing, I really do. And I buy cruelty free and vegan cosmetics as much as I possibly can. But there are just a few products where you just can’t beat MACs quality. So while the cosmetics that I’m buying, that are being sold here in Canada, are not tested on animals, I’m still supporting a company that sells their products to countries where it’s necessary by law.  I haven’t been buying as many MAC products as of late, because I’ve slowly been finding cruelty free products that work just as well for me. But these MAC products are still in my collection.

MAC also does great work with the Viva Glam AIDs Fund. 100% of the proceeds from the Viva Glam collection is given to help fight for this horrifying disease. Miley Cyrus had a line of Viva Glam products with MAC; Miley Cyrus is a vegan. Ellie Goulding and Ariana Grande; both had lines with MAC, both vegans! I bought products from all three of these lines.

As much as you can tell MAC to just stop selling in China, this is their business. People in China deserve quality beauty products too. So if anything, I think that we need to convince the China government to get rid of this law. A lot of countries are working on bans that will prevent animal testing, this is fantastic!

How do you feel about cosmetics companies that don’t test on animals, but sell to countries where it’s necessary by law?

This entry was posted in Beauty, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

