HOLIDAY COLLECTION REVIEW: TARTE PRETTY PAINTBOX COLLECTOR’S MAKEUP CASE

The Pretty Paintbox Collector’s Makeup Case is a part of the Tarte Holiday Collection for 2016 and is available exclusively online at Sephora. It includes 24 matte and shimmer eye shadows, a blush, a highlighter, a shimmer bronzer,  a matte contour bronzer, a deluxe sample of the Lash Paint mascara, a Rainforest of the Sea So Fine liquid liner and a deluxe sample of the Glossy Lip Paint in Obvi. This whole package retails for $77 CAD and Tarte values it at $543.

I included some shitty photos of looks I did using this kit just to give you an idea of the variety, the colour range and the possibilities. For all the looks I’ve included on this post I started with a base of Tarte Clean Slate Poreless Primer, Amazonian Clay 12 hr Full Coverage Foundation and Amazonian Clay Waterproof 12 hr Concealer. I’ve also used the blush, highlight and bronzer from the Pretty Paintbox. As well as the Tarte Lash Paint in every look and the So Fine liquid liner in looks where I wore liquid liner.

I’m going to start with the 24 eye shadow shades. You get such an amazing variety of colours and finishes. The perfect shades for base colours, transition shades, shades for creating a dramatic smoky eye or if you want a softer look; you can achieve anything with this collection of colours. There are so many incredibly look possibilities; I love the dark navy, purple and burgundy. As always with Tarte palettes, the colours are lined in rows  for what colours work well together to make it easy for people who may not know where to begin. The formula is so pigmented and beautifully blendable. These shadows last all day long with no fading or creasing. The shades Frameworthy and Van Gough With It are the perfect transition shades and the pink shades Porcelain Dali, Hearts and Crafts and I Louvre It are amazing to apply to my crease to really brighten my face and make me look more wide eyed on days when I want a more basic look. Here’s a look at all the shades and their names.

dsc_0167

For this edgy, dramatic look I’m using the colours Fresco, Frameworthy, One to Manet, Selfie Portrait and Charcoal Sketch on my eyes. I’m also wearing Lip Paint in Grunge and Tarteist Pro False Lashes in Goddess.

img_6044

This lighter eye look is just Fresco all over the lid to the brow, Frameworthy on the crease and Charcoal Sketch on the outer corner, lightly blended inward. I am wearing Lash Paint but no false lashes. I also am wearing the Glossy Lip Paint in Obvi; as you can see, it’s a really nice peachy sort of nude and not super glossy looking, nothing over the top.

look2

The blush included is called Moment and it’s a beautiful coral shade with a subtle golden shimmer. It is beautiful for any skin tone, so pigmented but so blendable for a nice natural flush. The blush shade and the gloss shade also perfectly compliment each other. The highlighter is a basic off white, sort of french vanilla, shade called Authentic. The highlighter actually totally exceeded my expectations, I was blown away by it’s pigment and intensity. Loved it! It also includes two bronzers; a shimmer bronzer called Unique for an all over glow and matte bronzer called Provocative for contouring. Both are super pigmented and very nice soft powders. You don’t need to pick up a lot of product on your brush so be gentle with them; since they are a soft and super pigmented powder you can easily pick up more product than you need and end up over doing it a bit.

dsc_0164

dsc_0170

The Lash Paint mascara has come to be my absolute favourite mascara. It curls, volumizes and lengthens lashes with a beautiful rich black colour, no flaking and no clumping. It’s absolute perfection. Something you may have noticed is that I never really review glosses, because I hate lip glosses! I would way rather have a nice matte finish lipstick than a sticky and shiny lip. This is the first time I have ever tried a Tarte Glossy Lip Paint, it’s in the shade Obvi which is a warm nude. My first impression is that I think the colour is very nice; if I were to get into lip glosses I would definitely stick to nudes like this. It didn’t have an over the top shine to it which I like because I find super shiny lip glosses look kind of tacky. It was a little sticky but not super sticky. Not transfer-proof, but it wore off evenly. The Glossy Lip Paint didn’t make me fall in love with lip gloss, but if I were to wear a lip gloss this one isn’t too bad. The So Fine liquid liner is so fine, so it’s great for precision. It’s very pigmented, so you get a very rich and opaque black that is long wearing and won’t fade or crack. You hardly need any pressure to dispense product from the tip, I ended up with much thicker lines than I meant to on my first try with it. The tip is also very short. The following uses of the liner were a lot more successful to get my desired look, I would say this liner is a winner!

For this look I’m wearing Glossy Lip Paint in Obvi and eye shadow: Fresco all over the lid, I Louvre It and Frameworthy in the crease.  It’s a very simple day time look.

look 7.jpg

This pink/purple look was done with Nudes on the lid to brow, Pastels on the lid to crease, I Louvre It in the crease, Get Surreal on the lid and Still Life used lightly on the outer corner and to smoke out the lower lash line. I’m wearing Tarteist Pro False Lashes in Goddess. I’m wearing Kat Von D Liquid Lipstick in Requiem as well.

look 3.jpg

These shots are just to show the glow from the highlighter.

glow

This look is a eye/lip combo I’m not totally crazy about. I wanted to wear a burgundy lipstick with this eye but I had a dentist appointment the morning of so I didn’t put my lipstick on until I got to work and I forgot my Frenemy lip paint! This is the Lip Paint in Choker, and my eyes were done with the Pretty Paintbox shades Porcelain Dali, Nudes, Monochrome  and Stained Glass. In this photo you can also see the beautiful coral colour of the blush better than you can in the others.

look-4

The shadows I used here are Waterlilies from the lid to brow, Van Gogh With It on the crease, Selfie Portrait is the shimmery shade on the lid and Charcoal Sketch is a dark brown smoked on the outer corner and along the lower lash line. I skipped wearing liquid liner or false lashes and just optioned for the Lash Paint mascara. My lips are the Tarte Lippie Lingerie Matte Lip Tint in Whisper.

img_6032

For this last look I used the shade Nudes all over from lid to brow, then I smoked the outer corner and lower lash line with Silhouette, put Bronze Casting on the lid and then put a little Glitter Glue on the inner corner.  Glitter Glue and Bronze Casting definitely benefited from wetting my brush with setting spray. I’m wearing it with Tarte Lip Paint in Frenemy.

look-6

I debated just deleting all my “look” photos because they suck so much, they don’t do the makeup justice at all. The pigment is just gorgeous; the drama, the colors, it’s all lovely.  Overall, I absolutely think this kit is worth the $77 and it would make a fantastic gift for any makeup lover on your Christmas list!

signature

 

This entry was posted in Beauty, Gift Guide, Reviews, Shopping, Swatches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HOLIDAY COLLECTION REVIEW: TARTE PRETTY PAINTBOX COLLECTOR’S MAKEUP CASE

  1. kissandmakeup3 says:

    i can’t wait to get this for myself! 🙂 it’s such a pretty palette & you get a lot for your money

Leave a Reply

