My Magical Prom Date

So the guy I went to prom with recently started following me on Instagram, and since we haven’t spoken in yeeears I thought it was really funny and it got me thinking about him again. I wanted to share our story with you, even if it may not be 100% my story to tell.

This is probably the funniest thing to ever happen to me.

Nobody we went to high school with is going to read this anyway.

So for a few weeks leading up to prom I had been asked out repeatedly by this boy, we’ll call him B. We had been friends for a little while and I never felt anything between us. It seemed weird that he was so desperate for me to go with him but I finally caved and said yes; I would have been better off going by myself.

When I met B at the pre-party, he had forgotten my corsage, and yeah that sucked but I forget things all the time so whatever. Later, when it came time to head to the venue, he left with his friends and left me to head there in a different vehicle. On the drive to the venue, he texted me and told me that he didn’t feel well and was going to go home. I couldn’t believe it. But when I arrived at the venue, he managed to stick around for a couple hours. Before he left he gave me the worst kiss of my life. It was awkward, uncomfortable. I didn’t want to end my night like that, it had already been awful. I made plans to go to an after party and to get a ride home with some friends.

After prom, he had the nerve to ask me to “be his girlfriend” or whatever is a less cheesy way to go about that. I said no, but he kept begging for a chance. I said okay, knowing it would most certainly fail. He managed to last like 2 weeks before he texted me one day and told me he got drunk and made out with another girl at the club the night before.

I should mention that B drank like a lot. He was an avid partyer.

This is basically how the conversation went.

B: So I have to tell you something…I went out last night and I had a lot to drink. I made out with [Insert his friend’s roommates name here]
Me: Alright
B: You aren’t mad?
Me: No.
B: So we’re okay?
Me: No.
B: *persistent apologies for days*

And honestly, I wasn’t mad. I really didn’t care at all.

Fast forward a few months; we had both done a semester at different colleges but you know how the holidays go. We both went to a mutual friend’s house for a NYE party. We were both still single at the time and my friend brought along his cute roommate. There was flirting, and there was a drunk B. Which resulted in him getting incredibly jealous.

He had a bit of a temper tantrum; pulling me aside to insist that when we broke up I was upset and that he wanted another chance, he didn’t like seeing me flirt with another guy. I tried to tell him I really didn’t care about what happened between us but he clearly had a lot going on and didn’t understand.

Later that night, my friend found him crying in our friend’s closet. When she asked him what was wrong, he came out to her. He literally came out of the closet while sitting in a closet.

I was a beard, and I kind of expected it from the beginning.

Every girl wants her prom to be memorable. Did I have the perfect prom? Absofuckinglutely not. Will I will remember it? Absofuckinglutely.

signature

This entry was posted in Journal, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

