Movie Review | Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

It’s been a few days since I’ve seen the movie so I’m less pumped about it now but I haven’t had the time to write the review, I’ll try not to forget anything.

So I want to start by touching on whether or not this will be the last movie in the franchise. Pirates originally started out as a planned trilogy, they released the third movie and said that was it. But then they did a fourth! And then a FIFTH. Now I have heard from a few sources that they didn’t plan on going any further with the franchise and here is the evidence that that is true:

All of the previous movies ended with Jack with a new map, ready to find a new treasure; this one did not, it was open ended. They always had a post credit scene to set up another movie. This installment ended with Will in bed awaking from a dream that Davy Jones entered his bedroom and then shows barnacles on the floor, which I don’t think was about setting up another film but the barnacles on the floor had just fallen off Will because his curse was broken. I also really felt like all the major characters got their closure and ended up exactly where they were meant to be, and they kind of all got to end the series as heroes instead of just pirates.

I really love this franchise because they were dark and creepy, dabbling in the supernatural, while still having the most amazing and cleverly written comedic relief. This movie was definitely the darkest of the franchise. It was also the most exciting, because I knew this was most likely the last one I was on the edge of my seat wondering if all of the characters would make it out alive. Always a fantastic cast; I really loved that they had Paul McCartney make an appearance as Uncle Jack since Jack’s dad was played by Keith Richards. The effects are always amazing and I really think that’s kind of part of what made this installment so dark; the effects to portray the dead were just incredibly well down and CGI young Jack Sparrow was so incredible. It was cool to see a bit of how Jack came to be a captain and have everything come full circle for him. The movie starts out with Jack kind of washed up and pathetic and then he snaps out of it. I always really loved how they managed to do the “everything that can go wrong will go wrong but Jack will still pull it off” sort of schemes; they’re incredibly cleverly thought out and well planned. I definitely feel like this was the best film in the franchise. I know I’m forgetting a ton of thoughts I had after initially watching it but it was just so amazing! Share your thoughts below, let’s chat!

This entry was posted in ENTERTAINMENT, Movies, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movie Review | Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

  1. I had been holding off on seeing this because the reviews were so bad. Good to know that Will IS back, I hadn’t heard that yet. I’ll still probably watch it. Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

