Cruelty Free Beauty

Today I want to write just a small blurb about my views on cruelty-free beauty.

Okay so for a lot of people cosmetics are either cruelty-free or they’re not. For me, I do kind of believe in that grey area. Those cosmetics that are sold in China, tested by a third party because it’s required by law; if I buy cosmetics here in Canada from companies that choose to sell their products in China, the products I’m buying have not been tested on animals. I can’t imagine these companies are selling their products in China because they just love animal testing.

I choose to buy cruelty free products where and when I can. Most of my cosmetics are from Tarte, Kat Von D, Urban Decay, Anastasia Beverly Hills, Lush or The Body Shop. But I do still own a few MAC products; lipsticks, and from the Viva Glam product line. How can you get mad about Viva Glam? They are giving money to foundations to treat and cure AIDs/HIV. Artists like Ariana Grande, Miley Cyrus and Ellie Goulding have all had lines with MAC, all Vegans! Ellen Degeneres is a Covergirl, she’s a Vegan! They obviously see and understand that grey area.

But, if you choose to be 100% cruelty free that doesn’t give you the right to be all self righteous. Yes, some companies maybe do choose a pay cheque over empathy towards animals but if we wanna be mad at someone let’s be mad at the Chinese government, let’s demand change from them. Not everyone can afford to buy 100% high end, cruelty free cosmetics, some people don’t have a choice but to buy drugstore brands like Covergirl and Maybelline and other companies that sell in China.

As much as I would like for all animal testing to end, let’s not forget about the medical advancements that were made because of animal testing. I’m not going to reject medical attention because something they’re using or doing was discovered because of animal testing. But moving forward, I would like to see a world free of animal testing!

Also, if you want to know if a company is cruelty-free just do the research! Don’t JUST look for the Leaping Bunny stamp because I’ve researched a lot of companies that are cruelty free but just choose not to get approved by Peta or the Leaping Bunny because they just don’t think it’s necessary.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

